Family · Life Lessons

Definition of a Hero

pop

HAPPY BIRTHDAY DAD!

Definition of a hero- a person admired for achievements and noble qualities…..one who shows great courage.

When I think of what a hero is by definition, I can’t help but think of my dad!  He has been my hero for my entire life.  Those who know me and my life story understand that I don’t think there is anyone who can compare to my dad.  

My dad had to serve as both mom and dad for most of my childhood. As I have grown and raised children of my own, I have often reflected on the valuable lessons I learned from my dad.  Today is his 80th birthday and I would like to share a few of the things that make my dad so amazing.

LOVE!  Dad has exemplified what love really is.  Throughout my life I always knew that he loved me.  No matter what I did or how I disappointed him, his love was unconditional.  He even taught me how to love people who didn’t love back.  I have watched him forgive those who have wronged him.  He has extended the love of Christ to those all around him.  There have been so many people throughout the years that have benefited greatly from his love.  His heart is huge!

DISCIPLINE!  I never wanted to disappoint my dad.  I wanted him to be proud of me. Like any child, on occasion I would do something that would get me in trouble.  Dad would talk to me and explain what I did and why it was wrong.  Then he would tell me that my “discipline” to come hurt him more than me.  I’m not sure the belt hurt him, but it sure did me.  I think the talks actually brought more pain than the belt, because I knew he was disappointed in my behavior.  Thankfully,  I learned my lesson pretty well and didn’t have much of an occasion for those talks. I am really thankful for the kind of discipline my dad bestowed upon me!  He taught me that there were always consequences to my actions.

HARD WORK!  I am not sure if I know anyone who has worked harder than Dad.  He is 80 and still works.  Growing up he would work his regular job and any part-time job he could to provide for his family.  The way he provided for us was incredible.  I’m not sure, but I think I had everything I could have ever really wanted and I know I had everything I needed.  

INTEGRITY/REPUTATION!  One of the most important lessons that I learned from dad is one that I taught to my children.  I will never forget before I went out on my first date that my dad made a very profound statement that I have cherished.  He told me to have fun, but remember,  “it takes a lifetime to build a good reputation, but just a few minutes to tear it down.” Integrity and a good reputation have always been important to my dad and he has lived his life protecting both.

PRAYER!  Throughout the past several years our family has been faced with some challenges.  It is during these challenges that I see who my dad really is.  Every morning he takes his two mile walk and while he walks he prays for every member of our family.  During the difficult days that we have faced as a family, I know he is praying for each of us. When I was going through my cancer, I remember him telling me that he had been talking to the Lord and it was going to be alright.  This is who my dad is!

The character of my dad is beyond words.  He is the most noble and honorable man that I know.  He is selfless and would do anything for anybody.  There is just way too much to convey on paper, but I wanted to share a glimpse of this man I call Dad.  

Today, I want him to be honored and revered as he deserves to be.  I am blessed to have been raised by such a man.  Dad, I love you more than any words can tell!  HAPPY 80TH BIRTHDAY!

3 thoughts on “Definition of a Hero

  1. Amen and amen. Willie Wilson has been everything my daddy could no longer be (because he is in heaven). Willie didn’t hesitate for one moment to fill the vaccant place my dad’s death left in my life and the lives of my children. He (and Betty Sue) poured into us like we were their very own; both in good times, in sad and in the life events that would crush a lesser man. I love your daddy with all my heart….I thank you and your sibs for sharing, likely unknowingly, your GREAT DAD with a broken, often tired girl who desperately needed Jesus with skin. John 15:13 James 1:27 Proverbs 27:17

    Like

  2. I hope I am able to see to type…tears are flowing! How blessed you are, Michelle to have such an amazing dad! What beautiful words were said honoring him. Happy 80th birthday, Mr. Wilson. I don’t know you, but I know you have raised a very special daughter and it is plain to see why!

    Like

Leave a Reply

