Devotions

Lessons in Prayer

Prayer has always been a part of my family’s life.  We raised our children while teaching them that prayer was vital. I love the powerful lessons that God has taught us through times of prayer.

We were about to move to Longview for our first full-time pastorate.  We had been praying about all the details of the move and working out all the logistics.  Our mobile home was about packed up and moving day was approaching but we still had nowhere to live.

After weeks of looking and making trips to Longview, we felt we had exhausted all means and were becoming a bit discouraged.  Our children were two and six years old so we were very specific in what we needed.

As Jim and I knelt with the kids by the couch to pray, it became a prayer time unlike we had experienced before.  As we acknowledged God’s purpose and our excitement about a new opportunity, we confessed that we had asked God for everything but a place to live. Suddenly our prayer time became humurous.

We were praying very seriously but began to laugh at how funny the situation actually was.  My prayer went something like this: “God we thank you for the new opportunity that you have given us, but we don’t have a home….” At that moment we began to laugh hysterically.  As irreverent as it sounds, God knew our very heart.  He knew we were desperate!  When we prayed, we were simply honest with God.

That is how we need to approach God.  So many times I think we are hesitant to approach God’s throne because of our inadequacies.  We may feel that we don’t know how to talk with God or that we aren’t worthy. There are times when we may feel anger, bitterness, hurt, anxiety, fear or insecurities.  No matter what you may be feeling, you can go to God as you are.  Satan would love for you to allow those things to keep you from God, but God is there waiting for you to come to Him and share your burdens with Him.

My best times in prayer have come when I’ve just been completely honest.  I am careful to praise God for who He is and all He has done, but there are times that I am desperate for His help. Many times I have gone to pray and don’t even know what to say, but the Holy Spirit does the talking for me. I feel like the best prayer times I have ever had are when I am just real with Him.  He knows me and He knows my heart, therefore, why should I try to be anything but real?

God taught us a valuable lesson during that prayer time in our humble mobile home!  He taught us to bring all our needs to Him and we can even laugh and be ourselves as we approach Him.  He gave us a place to live by the time we moved and it was exactly what we needed and asked for.  God is so good and He does care about the details of our lives. He cares about us in a way we can’t comprehend.

I pray my children will look back on these precious times and remember the lessons that God taught us.  We cannot begin to approach what this world offers without depending on prayer to get us through.  It doesn’t matter what you’re facing, God is bigger!  Talk to Him.  Share your heart.  He loves you!

I Peter 5:7, “casting all your cares on Him, for He cares for you…”

Romans 8:26, “Likewise the Spirit also helps in our weaknesses.  For we do not know what we should pray for as we ought, but the Spirit Himself makes intercession for us with groanings which cannot be uttered.”

One thought on “Lessons in Prayer

  1. Thank you, Michelle for sharing your heart and life experiences! You will never know how many times your blog has come at the perfect time. This one is one of those perfect times. Love you so much and thankful for our friendship. Btw, I think I almost always say this is my favorite….but this may be my favorite!! Lol!

    Like

Leave a Reply

